Key Figures

Chief of State:
President Emomali Rahmon
Head of Government:
Prime Minister Qohir Rasulzoda


Government Name:
Republic of Tajikistan
Adopted: 1994; Amendments established a new bicameral parliament and extended the President's term of office to seven years. The Constitution declares ideological and political pluralism which guarantees human rights and social-legal guarantees.
Government Type:
Preisdential Islamic Republic
Republic of Tajikistan Flag
Coat of Arms of Republic of Tajikistan

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2019)

Country Risk Rating

A high-risk political and economic situation and an often very difficult business environment can have a very significant impact on corporate payment behavior. Corporate default probability is very high. Source: Coface (2022)

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

President is guarantor of the constitution and laws, rights and freedoms of an individual and a citizen, unity and territorial integrity, continuity and durability of the country, coordinated functioning and cooperation of the state bodies, observance of international treaties of Tajikistan. Council of Ministers is responsible for management of government activities in accordance with laws and decrees of the Supreme Assembly and decrees of the president.

President is elected by popular vote and prime minister is appointed by the president.

7 years


Constitution provides for an independent judiciary, although the executive branch and criminal groups have considerable influence on judicial functions.

Nominated by president and approved by National Assembly.

10 year renewable terms, Mandatory retirement age of of 65


Powers include adoption and introduction of changes into laws and resolutions, interpretation of constitution, and call for presidential elections.

National Assembly (Majlisi Milli) has 25 members selected by indirect vote, 8 members appointed by the President and 1 member reserved for the former President, and in the Assembly of Representatives (Majlisi Namoyandagon), 41 members are elected by absolute majority vote in single-member constituencies and 22 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system.

5 years

Regional Trade Blocs

No Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Information not available
Tax Name:
Information not available


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets