Key Figures

Chief of State:
King Wachiralongkon
Head of Government:
Prime Minister Settha Thawisin


Government Name:
Kingdom of Thailand
Adopted: 2007; Drafted by a committee established by the military junta. Additionally, the junta made it illegal to publicly criticize the draft. Contents of the document include the rights and freedoms of the people, structure of the government, duties of the Thai people, direct political participation of the public, etc.
Government Type:
Constitutional Monarchy
Kingdom of Thailand Flag
Coat of Arms of Kingdom of Thailand

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

A somewhat shaky political and economic outlook and a relatively volatile business environment can affect corporate payment behavior. Corporate default probability is still acceptable on average. Source: Coface (2022)

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

Advises the king on matters of legislation, government affairs, clemency, awards, and other matters requiring the king’s signature.

Prime minister is appointed by the monarch.

Prime Minister: 4 years


Interprets the constitution, as well as adjudicate disputes involving state agencies, state enterprises, and local government organizations, or between state officials and private individuals.

Approved by monarch.

Until dismissal by monarch


Appointment of a regent, declarations by a regent, amendment of the Palace Law on Succession, approval of succession to the throne, reconsideration of bills or organic law bills, constitutional amendments, a declaration of war, and approval of treaties.

Senate (Wuthisapha) has 73 members appointed by judges and independent government bodies and 77 members elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies, and the House of Representatives (Sapha Phuthaen Ratsadon) has 375 members elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies and 125 members elected through a closed-list proportional representation system.

4 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Thai Revenue Department
Tax Name:


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets