Key Figures

Chief of State:
President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni
Head of Government:
President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni


Government Name:
Republic of Uganda
Adopted: 1995; Sanctions a republican form of government with the president as the head of government. Amendments in 2005 removed presidential term limits and legalized a multi-party political system.
Government Type:
Republic of Uganda Flag
Coat of Arms of Republic of Uganda

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

A very uncertain political and economic outlook and a business environment with many troublesome weaknesses can have a significant impact on corporate payment behavior. Corporate default probability is high. Source: Coface (2022)

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

Responsible for implementing and enforcing the laws written by parliament.

Elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system.

5 years


Operates as an independent branch of government.

Appointed by president.

Until dismissal by executive branch


Passes laws which will provide good governance in the country, scrutinizes government programs, particularly as outlined in the State of the Nation Address by the president, and handles the fiscal issues of government, such as taxation and loans.

238 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies, 112 members are reserved for women, and 25 members are reserved by legally established special interest groups.

5 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Uganda Revenue Authority
Tax Name:


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets