The Asia-Pacific Trade Agreement (APTA) was signed in 1975 as an initiative of the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP). APTA aims to promote economic development through the adoption of mutually beneficial trade liberalization measures that will contribute to intra-regional trade expansion and provides for economic integration through coverage of merchandise goods, services, investment, and trade facilitation. APTA is the only operational trade agreement that links China and India, two of the fastest growing markets in the world.

Member Countries

Member Countries
Bangladesh China India
Laos Mongolia South Korea
Sri Lanka


United Nations ESCAP Asia-Pacific Trade Agreement Official Website