Key Figures

Chief of State:
King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck
Head of Government:
Prime Minister Lotay Tshering


Government Name:
Kingdom of Bhutan
Adopted: 2008; Based upon Buddhist philosophy and various other aspects, the Constitution of Bhutan aims to promote and protest the present and future well-being of the people of Bhutan. It details the structure of the political system so that it provides peace and stability while also strengthening Bhutan's security.
Government Type:
Constitutional Monarchy
Kingdom of Bhutan Flag
Coat of Arms of Kingdom of Bhutan

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

There is no Country Risk Rating for Bhutan

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

The prime minister is the head of the government and heads the executive cabinet, also know as the council of ministers, who controls the executive powers.

The role of king is hereditary, and he must retire by age 65. The prime minister is nominated by the party that wins the most seats in the national assembly.

4 years


The high court is the first court of appeal, and the supreme court is the final appeal. The supreme court has the original jurisdiction over constitutional questions and matters of national importance.

Supreme and high court judges are appointed by the king.

No term limit


The Bhutanese parliament is bicameral, consisting of the national council and a national assembly.

Bhutan elects its legislative branch through universal suffrage.

5 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Information not available
Tax Name:
Information not available


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets