Key Figures

Chief of State:
President Jair Bolsonaro
Head of Government:
President Jair Bolsonaro


Government Name:
Federative Republic of Brazil
Adopted: 1988; Resulting from the previous six constitutions, this version of the constitution abolished the monarchy in Brazil and introduced separate state powers. It also reinforces the powers of the legislature and introduces environmental protection.
Government Type:
Federal Republic
Federative Republic of Brazil Flag
Coat of Arms of Federative Republic of Brazil

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2019)

Country Risk Rating

A very uncertain political and economic outlook and a business environment with many troublesome weaknesses can have a significant impact on corporate payment behavior. Corporate default probability is high. Source: Coface (2021)

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

The president leads the executive branch and is the commander-in-chief of the Brazilian armed forces. The vice president would replace the president and assumes the role of presidency while the president is abroad. The cabinet administers assist the president in the exercise of the executive power by administrating a corresponding government ministry.

The president and vice president are elected by the citizens of Brazil by absolute majority vote through a two-round system.

4 years


The judiciary is separate from other government entities.

Justices are appointed by the president and approved by the federal senate.

Mandatory retirement age of 70


The federal senate is the upper house of bicameral congress. The chamber of deputies is the lower house.

The federal senate has 81 members who are elected by plurality vote in multi-member constituencies. The chamber of deputies has 513 members who are elected through an open-list proportional representation system.

Federal Senate: 8 years; Chamber of Deputies: 4 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Ministry of Finance
Tax Name:


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets