Key Figures

Chief of State:
President Rumen Radev
Head of Government:
Prime Minister Nikolay Denkov


Government Name:
Republic of Bulgaria
Adopted: 1991; Overviews fundamental principles, fundamental rights and duties of citizens, the structure of the national assembly, the duties of the president, council of ministers, the judiciary, local self-government and local administration, the constitutional court, and various amendments.
Government Type:
Parliamentary Republic
Republic of Bulgaria Flag
Coat of Arms of Republic of Bulgaria

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

Political and economic uncertainties and an occasionally difficult business environment can affect corporate payment behavior. Corporate default probability is appreciable. Source: Coface (2023)

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

The president schedules elections and referendums, represents Bulgaria abroad, concludes international treaties, and heads the consultative council for national security. The prime minister leads a political coalition in the Narodno Sabranie and is the leader of the cabinet of ministers.

The president is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system. The prime minister is elected by parliament.

President: 5 years; Prime Minister: Until dismissal by executive branch


The constitutional court is in charge of reviewing the constitutionality of laws and statutes. The supreme administrative court rules on all challenges to the legality of acts of the council of ministers, individual ministers, and of other acts established by law. The supreme court of cassation is the final court of appeal in the Republic of Bulgaria. It exercises supreme judicial power over the application of law in all courts.

The constitutional court has one third appointed by the president, one third elected by the national assembly, and one third elected at a general meeting of the judges of the supreme court of cassation and the supreme administrative court. Supreme administrative court and court of cassation chairs are appointed by the president, deputy judges are appointed by the supreme judicial council.

Constitutional Court: 9 years (in a rotation system of a third every three years); Supreme Courts: Chairmen/prosecutor-general have seven year terms with a two term limit. Judges have tenure after age of 65 unless dismissed for incapacitation, criminal activity, or neglect of duty.


Narodno Sabranie enacts laws, approves the budget, schedules presidential elections, selects/dismisses ministers, declares war, deploys troops outside of Bulgaria, and ratifies international treaties and agreements.

Narodno Sabranie has 240 members elected through a closed-list proportional representation system.

4 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Ministry of Finance
Tax Name:


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets