Key Figures

Chief of State:
President Katerina Sakellaropoulou
Head of Government:
Prime Minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis


Government Name:
Hellenic Republic
Adopted: 1975; Constitution aims to protect religious freedom, define individual social rights, and dictate the structure and functions of the Greek government.
Government Type:
Parliamentary Republic
Hellenic Republic Flag
Coat of Arms of Hellenic Republic

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

Political and economic uncertainties and an occasionally difficult business environment can affect corporate payment behavior. Corporate default probability is appreciable. Source: Coface (2022)

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

The president has the power to declare war, grant pardon, and conclude agreements of peace, alliance, and participation in international organizations (mostly a ceremonial role). The prime minister is the leader of the party controlling the absolute majority of parliament and safeguards the unity of the government and directs its activities.

The president is elected by the Hellenic parliament. The prime minister is appointed by the president.

5 years


Supreme court can take on "contradictory" decisions, or judge the constitutionality of a legal provision differently. The supreme special court can declare an unconstitutional legal provision as "powerless", and is also the supreme electoral court by judging pleas against the legality of the legislative elections.

Judges are appointed by a presidential decree and are dismissed only after a judicial decision. Presidents and vice-presidents of the three supreme courts as well as the prosecuting attorney of the court of cassation are chosen by the cabinet.

3 years


Members can vote to elect the president once their term expires and have the ability to revise the constitution.

250 members are elected through an open-list proportional representation system. 50 seats are also awarded to the party that wins a plurality of votes with an electoral threshold of 3%.

4 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Ministry of Finance
Tax Name:


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets