Key Figures

Chief of State:
President Sergio Mattarella
Head of Government:
Prime Minister Giorgia Meloni


Government Name:
Italian Republic
Adopted: 1947; Contains information regarding the formation of the Constituent Assembly; provisions regarding fundamental principles, rights and duties of citizens, and organization of the republic; and various amendments.
Government Type:
Parliamentary Republic
Italian Republic Flag
Coat of Arms of Italian Republic

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

Political and economic uncertainties and an occasionally difficult business environment can affect corporate payment behavior. Corporate default probability is appreciable. Source: Coface (2023)

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

The president appoints the executive cabinet, serves as president of the judiciary, and is also the commander-in-chief of the armed forces. The prime minister is a member of the cabinet, and is able to nominate a list of cabinet ministers to be appointed by the president.

The president is elected by an electoral college. The prime minister is appointed by the president with the approval of parliament.

7 years


The Corte Suprema di Cassazione is the highest court of the land and has jurisdiction over all lower courts. The Corte Costituzionale determines the constitutionality of laws.

Corte Suprema di Cassazione is appointed by the superior council of the judiciary, headed by the president. The Corte Costituzionale has 5 judges appointed by the president, 5 elected by parliament, and 5 elected by select higher courts.

Corte Suprema di Cassazione: information not available; Corte Costituzionale: 9 years


Both the senate and chamber of deputies form a bicameral system and perform identical functions.

The chamber of deputies has 630 members who are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system. The senate has 315 members who are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system.

5 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Ministry of Finance
Tax Name:


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets