North Macedonia is a small, landlocked country located in the central Balkan Peninsula in Southeastern Europe. It borders Albania, Bulgaria, Greece, Kosovo, and Serbia. North Macedonia is a major transportation corridor from Western and Central Europe to the Aegean Sea and Southern Europe to Western Europe. The government system is a parliamentary republic; the chief of state is the president, and the head of government is the prime minister. North Macedonia has a small, open economy that is vulnerable to economic developments in Europe and dependent on regional integration for continued economic growth. North Macedonia is a member of the Central European Free Trade Agreement (CEFTA) and the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO).

Country Comparator

Select variable and countries to compare in table format.

Country Rankings

Rank ordering and interactive map. Show how this country compares to others.