Key Figures

Chief of State:
President Felix Antoine Tshisekedi Tshilombo
Head of Government:
Prime Minister Jean Michel Sama Lukonde


Government Name:
Congo, Republic of
Adopted: 2002; Contains general provisions on the protection of intellectual rights in Article 29, which reads: "Every citizen is entitled to the protection of the moral and material interests resulting from any scientific, literary, or artistic production of which he is the author."
Government Type:
Congo, Republic of Flag
Coat of Arms of Congo, Republic of

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

A high-risk political and economic situation and an often very difficult business environment can have a very significant impact on corporate payment behavior. Corporate default probability is very high. Source: Coface (2022)

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

The president appoints the council of ministers, can dissolve parliament, commander-in-chief of armed forces.

The president is the absolute majority vote through a two-round system.

7 years


The supreme court (Cour Supreme) is the highest court of the land.

Judges are elected by parliament.

No term limit


The legislature elects the judges, approves presidential declaration of war, in charge of policy making.

The senate has 66 members indirectly elected by regional governing councils, 137 elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies.

Senate: 6 years; National Assembly: 5 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Information not available
Tax Name:
Information not available


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets