Key Figures

Chief of State:
President Macky Sall
Head of Government:
Prime Minister Amadou BA


Government Name:
Republic of Senegal
Adopted 2001; The constitution of Senegal is divided into these headings: The State and the Sovereignty, Public Liberties and the Person, The President of the Republic, Opposition, Relationship Between the Legislative Power and the Executive Power, The Judicial Power, International Treaties and Agreements, and Amendments.
Government Type:
Republic of Senegal Flag
Coat of Arms of Republic of Senegal

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

Political and economic uncertainties and an occasionally difficult business environment can affect corporate payment behavior. Corporate default probability is appreciable. Source: Coface (2022)

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

Political system remains dominated by the office of the presidency.

President is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system. Prime minister is appointed by the president.

7 years


The judiciary, like the legislature, has also been subservient to the wishes of the executive branch.

Appointment by president.

6 years


Legislature, while open to opposition viewpoints, has little direct control over the executive branch.

In the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale), 90 members are elected by plurality vote and 60 members are elected by proportional representation.

5 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Information not available
Tax Name:
Information not available


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets