Key Figures

Chief of State:
President of the Swiss Confederation Ignazio Cassis
Head of Government:
President of the Swiss Confederation Ignazio Cassis


Government Name:
Swiss Confederation
Adopted: 1999; This is the current and third constitution. It establishes the Swiss Confederation as a federal republic of 26 cantons, contains a catalogue of individual and popular rights, establishes the responsibilities of the cantons/Confederation, and establishes the federal authorities of government.
Government Type:
Federal Republic
Swiss Confederation Flag
Coat of Arms of Swiss Confederation

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2019)

Country Risk Rating

The political and economic situation is good. A basically stable and efficient business environment nonetheless leaves room for improvement. Corporate default probability is low on average. Source: Coface (2020)

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

Each Federal Councilor heads a government department, much like the ministers in the governments of other countries.

President is appointed by parliament, Council of States (Standerat/Council des Etats/ Consiglio degli Stati) 6 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies and 40 members are elected by plurality vote in multi-member constituencies.

President: 1 year; Council of States: 4 years


Hear appeals of cantonal courts or the administrative rulings of the federal administraton.

Elected by Federal Assembly.

6 years


Possesses the federal government's legislative power, along with the separate constitutional right of citizen's initiative.

National Council (Nationalrat/Conseil National/Consiglio Nazionale) 195 members are elected by open list proportional representation in multi-member constituencies and 5 members are elected by a plurality system.

4 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Federal Tax Administration
Tax Name:


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets