Key Figures

Chief of State:
President Samia Suluhu Hassan
Head of Government:
President Samia Suluhu Hassan


Government Name:
United Republic of Tanzania
Adopted: 1977; Prior to the current constitution, Tanzania had three constitutions. This current constitution confirms the main principles: strong presidentialism, double government structure, and single-party state.
Government Type:
Presidential Republic
United Republic of Tanzania Flag
Coat of Arms of United Republic of Tanzania

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

A very uncertain political and economic outlook and a business environment with many troublesome weaknesses can have a significant impact on corporate payment behavior. Corporate default probability is high. Source: Coface (2022)

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

Commander-in-chief of the armed forces, head of government functions.

President is elected by popular vote.

5 years


Functions include interpreting diverse laws and execution administrative decisions, hearing and deciding cases filed before the courts of law, and facilitating maintenance of peace and order through good governance and the rule of law.

Appointed by president.

Mandatory retirement age of 60


Has powers to deal with both union and non-union issues which are not in the scope of the Zanzibar Government, discussing bills and passing laws, and scrutinizing the actions of the executive arm of the government.

National Assembly (Bunge) 239 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies, 102 members are reserved for women, 5 members are allocated to members of the Zanzibar House of Representatives, and 10 members are appointed by the president.

5 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Tanzania Revenue Authority
Tax Name:


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets