Key Figures

Chief of State:
Emmerson Dambudzo Mnangagwa
Head of Government:
Emmerson Dambudzo Mnangagwa


Government Name:
Republic of Zimbabwe
Adopted: 1980; Was adopted as the result of the 1979 Lancaster House Agreement. Outlines topics including the republic and the constitution, citizenship, the declaration of rights, the branches of government, the public service, and miscellaneous provisions.
Government Type:
Parliamentary Democracy
Republic of Zimbabwe Flag
Coat of Arms of Republic of Zimbabwe

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

The highest-risk political and economic situation and the most difficult business environment. Corporate default is likely. Source: Coface (2022)

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

Has the power to appoint judges, diplomats, cabinet, and department heads, has operational command of government services and contracts, and has the sole power to wage war.

Direct elections for the presidency.

8 years


Sole power to interpret the law and apply it to particular disputes, has the power to determine the disposition of prisoners, and power to compel testimony and the production of documents.

Appointed by president.

No term limit


Discusses and votes on laws, has the power to write and to enact taxes, and sets the budget.

Direct elections for the 201 constituency seats in the National Assembly and the seats in the urban and rural local authorities.

5 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Commissioner General, Zimbabwe Revenue Authority
Tax Name:


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets