Key Figures

Chief of State:
Sultan and Prime Minister Hassanal Bolkiah
Head of Government:
Sultan and Prime Minister Hassanal Bolkiah


Government Name:
Nation of Brunei, Abode of Peace
Adopted: 1959; Dictates the government including the executive head of state and various councils. Eliminated the need for elections.
Government Type:
Absolute Monarchy or Sultanate
Nation of Brunei, Abode of Peace Flag
Coat of Arms of Nation of Brunei, Abode of Peace

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

There is no Country Risk Rating for Brunei

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

The sultan has absolute executive authority. It appoints legislative council members and the supreme court.

The sultan and prime minister are hereditary.



The supreme court is the highest court of the land. Shariah deals with Islamic law matters.

Supreme court judges are appointed by the monarch. The sharia court of appeal judges is appointed by the monarch.

Supreme Court judges can serve until age 65, Sharia Court of Appeal judges have no term limits.


The legislative council advises the sultan.

The legislative council has 33 members who are appointed by the sultan.

Until dismissal by sultan

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Information not available
Tax Name:
Information not available


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets