Key Figures

Chief of State:
President Azali Assoumani
Head of Government:
President Azali Assoumani


Government Name:
Union of the Comoros
Adopted: 2001; Renamed the Islamic Federal Republic of Comoros in the Union of Comoros, this document establishes that the executive power is exercised by the government, the federal legislative power is vested in both the government and parliament, and each of the islands has a great amount of autonomy in the Union. The constitution does not, however, contain provisions concerning the protection of intellectual property rights.
Government Type:
Union of the Comoros Flag
Coat of Arms of Union of the Comoros

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

There is no Country Risk Rating for Comoros

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

The president appoints judges and is in charge of daily executory tasks of the government.

The president is elected by the plurality vote in single member constituencies.

4 years


The supreme court is the highest court of the land. The constitutional court is in charge of determining cases questioning the constitution.

2 supreme court judges are selected by the president of the union, another 2 by the assembly of the union, and 1 each by the 3 island councils.

No term limit


The assembly of the union is in charge of creating the legislature.

The assembly of the union has 15 members elected by regional legislatures and 18 by absolute majority vote in single member constituencies.

5 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Information not available
Tax Name:
Information not available


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets