Key Figures

Chief of State:
President Ferdinand "BongBong" Marcos, Jr.
Head of Government:
President Ferdinand "BongBong" Marcos, Jr.


Government Name:
Republic of the Philippines
Adopted: 1987. Details the structure of the three branches of government and discusses topics such as citizenship, suffrage, local government, social justice, and human rights, and the family, among others.
Government Type:
Republic of the Philippines Flag
Coat of Arms of Republic of the Philippines

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

Political and economic uncertainties and an occasionally difficult business environment can affect corporate payment behavior. Corporate default probability is appreciable. Source: Coface (2022)

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

President is main source of executive power, although most of his power is delegated to a cabinet, and also is the commander in chief.

President elected by plurality vote and vice president by plurality vote on a separate ballot from the president.

6 years


Settle actual controversies involving rights which are legally demandable and enforceable.

President selects judges and justices from nominees given by the Judicial and Bar Council.

Mandatory retirement age of 70


All bills need consent of both houses to be submitted to the president. Congress can override presidential veto with a two-thirds supermajority. Senate has the power to vote upon treaties while the House may only introduce money bills. Additionally the House has the power to impeach while the Senate may try the impeached official.

Senate members are elected by plurality vote in multi-member constituencies. House of Representatives has 230 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies and 57 members through a closed-list proportional representation system.

Senate: 6 years; House of Representatives: 3 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Department of Finance's Bureau of Internal Revenue
Tax Name:


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets