Key Figures

Chief of State:
King Carl XVI Gustaf
Head of Government:
Prime Minister Ulf KRISTERSSON (since 18 October 2022); Deputy Prime Minister Ebba BUSCH (since 18 October 2022)


Government Name:
Kingdom of Sweden
Adopted:1989; Consists of four fundamental laws: The Act of Succession (1810), The Freedom of the Press Act (1949), The Instrument of Government (1974), and The Fundamental Law on Freedom of Expression (1991). Additionally a law on the internal structure and functions of the Riksdag has a special status, but is not regarded as a fundamental law (The 1974 Riksdag Act).
Government Type:
Parliamentary Constitutional Monarchy
Kingdom of Sweden Flag
Coat of Arms of Kingdom of Sweden

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

The political and economic situation is good. A basically stable and efficient business environment nonetheless leaves room for improvement. Corporate default probability is low on average. Source: Coface (2022)

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

Monarch holds a ceremonial title as head of state. The prime minister serves as the head of government while the government of Sweden is the national cabinet and the supreme executive authority. Each ministry acts in its specified titled area.

Prime minister elected by parliament.

4 years


All courts are independent of the Riksdag and government intervention with the courts decisions is not allowed.

Nominated by Board of Judges, appointed by executive branch.

Life appointment


The unicameral Riksdag is the supreme decision-making body in Sweden. It is responsible for enacting laws, amending the constitution, and appointing a government.

310 members are elected through a flexible-list proportional representation system and 39 are distributed by proportional representation.

4 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Ministry of Finance
Tax Name:


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets