Key Figures

Chief of State:
Joao Manuel Goncalves Lourenco
Head of Government:
Joao Manuel Goncalves Lourenco


Government Name:
Republic of Angola
Adopted: 2010; Establishes the government model similar to those in place in South Africa and Botswana, abolishes the direct election of the president, creates term limits, and clarifies land rights.
Government Type:
Republic with Multiparty Presidental Regime
Republic of Angola Flag
Coat of Arms of Republic of Angola

Index of Economic Freedom

Grades each country on a scale of 0 to 100, based on ten freedoms, with 100 representing the greatest amount of economic autonomy from government intervention. Source: Heritage Foundation (2023)

Country Risk Rating

A very uncertain political and economic outlook and a business environment with many troublesome weaknesses can have a significant impact on corporate payment behavior. Corporate default probability is high. Source: Coface (2022)

Government Branches

Main Powers Election Process Election Cycle 1

The president possesses the executive authority in the Angolan government after the 2010 constitution eliminated the position of prime minister. The vice president serves as the deputy head of state. The cabinet serves each specific designated ministry.

The president is elected as the leader of the party who has received the most votes in the national assembly. The vice president is appointed by the president. The cabinet ministers are appointed by the president.

President: 5 years; Vice President: 5 years; Cabinet Members: 5 years


The supreme court is given the power to administer justice and discharge jurisdictional duties on a nationwide level.

The president appoints the 16 supreme court judges upon recommendation of an association of magistrates, and he appoints the attorney general. Confirmation by the general assembly is not required.

Life appointment


The national assembly is responsible for the creation of laws as the legislating body of Angolan government.

The national assembly has 220 members who are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system.

4 years

Regional Trade Blocs

International Organization Participation [2]

Environmental Agreements [3]

Tax Information [2]

Tax Authority:
Administração Geral Tributária (AGT)
Tax Name:
Value-added tax (VAT)


  1. ElectionGuide
  2. EY,
  3. CIA World Factbook,
  4. U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets