The ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) is not yet a household name, but it certainly has the power to become one. Officially launched on January 1, 2016, the AEC is aiming to transform the economies of ASEAN’s 10 member states - Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Burma, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam - into a unified market and production base. However, the AEC will not attempt to implement uniform economic policies throughout the region. It sees diversity among its members as a strength and an attribute that will make it attractive to global investors. With a combined GDP of $2.4 trillion, this new economic community will look to have tremendous impacts on global markets and international trade.

In this blog series, we will compare the AEC to the European Union, discuss the investment opportunities created by the formation of the new economic bloc, cover the challenges facing the AEC, and offer helpful globalEDGE resources related to the AEC and ASEAN

Share this article