Speaker: Russel Lucas, Michigan State University

Air Date: April 12, 2016

Turkey is bordered by eight countries: Syria and Iraq to the south; Iran, Armenia, and the Azerbaijani exclave of Nakhchivan to the east; Georgia to the northeast; Bulgaria to the northwest; and Greece to the west. Just reading the set of eight countries bordering Turkey brings a Middle East focus to the storyline and, currently, a large Syrian refugee flow into the country (and, in many cases, onward to European countries).